Off to Science Online 2009

Just in case you weren’t sure that I had enough geek cred, I am off to North Carolina for the Science Online 2009 conference. My official mission is to find ways to use online networking to increase diversity at SIO, and my unofficial mission is to schmooze & booze with my ocean (and terrestrial) blogging buddies.*

If you’re going, don’t forget that Kevin Z, Karen James, the Southern Fried Scientist and I will leading a sea shanty singalong Friday night! You don’t need to know any shanties or be able to sing – we’ll teach you and it’s all about the volume anyway. Plus, don’t you want to know where me noggy noggy shirt is? Or all the things to do with a drunken sailor early in the morning?

*Note that my favorite piezophilic trio, Deep Sea News, has left Discovery Networks and gone indie. Check out their snazzy new digs!

4 Responses to Off to Science Online 2009

  1. Peter Mc says:

    I used to go to Middlesbrough football club in the north east of the UK. It is a busy port, a fairly rough industrial town and their version of “What shall we do with the drunken sailor?” finished “kick his f***ing head in!”

    As I say, it was rough. Enjoy the conference and singalong!

  2. Eric says:

    I’m so jealous… I need a good round of sea chanties right now – Nothing like it to lift a persons spirit!

  3. DNLee says:

    ahh, me wench, me noggin, noggin wench. Good times.

  4. Still recovering from me grog. It was a tough slog at work today!
    DN – it was AWESOME to finally meet you.
    Eric – We missed you! Next year – or maybe we need a supplementary ocean blogger meetup.
    Peter – Now I’m scared.

Leave a Reply

