Wordless Wednesday: Leopard Shark Edition

It’s Wordless Wednesday! This is a leopard shark from off La Jolla Shores a couple of months ago. Leopard sharks are fairly big – this one was about 5 feet long – but are harmless and beautiful bottom-feeders. (In fact, this shark is facing away because it was fleeing from big bad me.) The sharks come way inshore in the summer to mate – I took this photo while snorkeling in only about 4 feet of water.

I really can’t get the hang of this wordless thing.

This photo was enhanced in Photoshop by my most excellent lab associate Ryan in order to remove blurriness caused by particles in the water.

4 Responses to Wordless Wednesday: Leopard Shark Edition

  1. JLS Hall says:

    Great shot! Didn’t know there were any harmless sharks.

  2. Thanks, JLS! Actually, most sharks are harmless. There are 350 different shark species, and only 10 are considered dangerous to people.

  3. J.P. says:

    A thousand years ago, Der Hai. Legende eines Mörders. written by Hans Hass was my eyeopener.

  4. Generally I do not learn article on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very forced me to take a look at and do it! Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thank you, very nice post.

Leave a Reply

