Tunicates and towers

Some days, you find your experimental organisms and make the science. Here’s my ear (and the rest of me) with my tunicate. They’re the bluish blobs halfway down the far left side. Unfortunately, I don’t think I’m going to be allowed to sample there, as it’s right outside of a dive resort with a very carefully tended house reef. I hope I find it elsewhere. Of course, if I don’t find it elsewhere, I can assume it’s not invasive and I can just go home. 🙂

And some days, you find that your study site is occupied – BY A GIANT OIL DRILL! Seriously, it’s right on top of the study site, drilling away. I had no idea they drilled this close to shore. Unsurprisingly, this was outside a fishing village far away from the eyes of tourists.

6 Responses to Tunicates and towers

  1. J.P. says:

    The Thialf is a SSCV, a Semi-Submersible Crane Vessel.

  2. Thanks, JP! The locals thought it was drilling for oil – is that the sort of thing an SSCV does?

  3. J.P. says:

    It is just a gigantic crane and did for example do the Brent Spar.
    Heerema is a Dutch firm.

  4. Thanks, JP. It must have been there to do something to Curacao’s oil-receiving port, which is right next to this fishing village.

  5. kevin z says:

    Oil rigs/cranes… Try doing your field work out in the middle of the gulf of mexico! There is nothing like a horizon of gas flames in your sunset…

  6. Well, I do enjoy a nice side of apocalypse with my science.

Leave a Reply

