The Oyster’s Garter, all shiny for 2008

I was going to post something substantial when I looked at my profile cartoon and realized that I hadn’t worn pigtails in years. (The pigtail-peak was when I was working in the backcountry with very limited showering opportunities.). So I gave myself an extreme makeover.  If you’re interested in a little cartoon version of yourself, the website is here.

Before:   me.gif                   After:   Miriam

Then the North Pacific Gyre photos post was linked to by Drunk Report and GoodShit and Digg, so it got a truly astonishing number of hits over the weekend. That was awesome, except for when I checked out the discussions everyone thought I was a dude.  Though I suppose “he” is the English default, I am definitively not a dude, so I replaced the blog template with one that shows the post author names. Petty, perhaps, but I feel like I’ve got to own the “woman in science” thing.

4 Responses to The Oyster’s Garter, all shiny for 2008

  1. Martini-Corona says:

    What an excellent new haircut! I mean icon. I also think that color of lip gloss (I mean random pixels) is quite flattering.

  2. Martini-Corona says:

    Hm. Could you add “previous post” and “next post” links of some kind to each entry, while you’re at it?

  3. Why, thank you! Now if only I occasionally remembered to wear lip gloss in real life. (though I am a grad student so it’s impressive if I wear a clean t-shirt every day.)

    WordPress has set templates, and unfortunately they’re not customizable without paying extra. That’s why I had to change the whole thing to get the author’s name inside the post. So we can’t add those links – sorry!

  4. […] online community. The best part is … it’s all 100% free! Check them out here: Join Hey Nielsen! The Oyster’s Garter, all shiny for 2008 saved by 1 others     likecards bookmarked on 01/06/08 | […]

Leave a Reply

