I’d hate to find one of these guys in my boot

Some British scientists found a foot-and-half long fossilized sea scorpion claw, in Germany, suggesting that the ancient deeps (some 250 million years ago) held 8-foot long scorpions. I believe I speak for all of us when I say, “Yipes!”

The scientists seem to think that when mammals finally caught up to them in size – and I expect we’re talking about orca-ancestors here, though I don’t know – the giant sea scorpions could only survive by getting small, which they went and did. Skippy the Scorpion says, when you’re camping in the desert, always check your boots before you put them on.

Leave a Reply

